logo
Weekly Auctions of Exceptional Items
Log In

Bidder Reviews for The Benefit Shop Foundation Inc. (1,177)

4.2 out of 5.0 Stars
5 Star
68% (806)
4 Star
11% (135)
3 Star
6% (69)
2 Star
6% (65)
1 Star
9% (101)

1-50 of 1,177 Reviews

Filter:
All Ratings
Sort:
Highest Rated
Joan
Carmel, New York
Oct 26, 2020
Treasure huntI have found many unusual finds and enjoy my treasures.
Report
Marsha
Tavares, Florida
Oct 24, 2020
Great Addition to our British Restaurant RemodelI can not stress enough how great the selection is for EVERY auction that The Benefit Shop puts together. The majority is very diverse, economical, and highly collectable. The care the auction house takes to make sure every customer is not disappointed is not only commendable but is a cut above some of the career auctioneers. Dennis at ASAP Shippers is amazing! Dennis has packed every auction item that I have won, and has handled each item as if it is precious! Dennis packs perfect to begin with so there are NO disappointments with receiving broken items! I look at every auction because I can find something "perfect" for the image I am trying to achieve with the interior decorations for my business. I don't always win-because they are known for their quality, but I still enjoy the search! Marsha G
Report
Brigitte
Tenafly, New Jersey
Oct 23, 2020
Eileen
Somers, New York
Oct 22, 2020
DescriptionsBetter measure of items and more detailed descriptions needed
Report
Katie
Richmond, Virginia
Oct 22, 2020
Raymond
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Oct 21, 2020
Don
Poughquag, New York
Oct 21, 2020
good values but getting a scheduled collection time....For me arranging a collection appointment is awkward as I do not live in the area. So be aware that finding a mutual time might be difficult... indeed for me making it a 110 Mile round trip...
Report
Cathy
Old Greenwich, Connecticut
Oct 21, 2020
Good OverallI bought a nice sterling serving fork and a flow Blue/transferware plate. Both Items are quite nice. It was very interesting to see all sorts of items in the warehouse style business space, when I went in person (at the specific appointment time and day-with my covid suitable mask (and gloves!)) to pick them up. The items do not all look so impressive placed on open shelving. They do a great job with the photos, though. I would have thought that my plate was a bit whiter from the photo; but to be fair I can see how it was simply photographed in the most flattering light. The difference is subtle, but something to keep in mind. Just like buying in person, sometimes the item doesn't exactly match what you already own at home. On the topic of communications and payment; all was resloved with several back and forth emails so that I would be registered with The benefit house. org as a legitimate vendor and entitled to avoid paying the NYS sales tax. That was a pain in the neck, as there seem to be two email addresses, and it is not entirely clear who you are communicating with or what their role is with this organization. Nevertheless, eventually a revised invoice appeared in my email and I was able to pay and keep my assigned pickup time. I did discover that the travel time was longer then anticipated, and I would definitely choose a different route next time. Also, I was a little bit confused about exactly which building and door I needed. The warehouse is very close to a highway and from the direction I arrived, you need to make a left turn across several lanes, while oncoming traffic is deciding which lane they want to travel in for the highway entrance or not. The sign for the benefit shop is small. As I said, overall a good experience, and if items come along at a good price I will know what to expect.
Report
Frederica
New York, New York
Oct 21, 2020
Jill
Studio City, California
Oct 21, 2020
PerfectNice items, well packed, perfect transaction!
Report
Chris
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Oct 21, 2020
One of the more expensive UPS storesWell-packed, but something of an East Coast markup on the shipping.
Report
Janis
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Oct 21, 2020
THEY WERE NOT TRANSPARENT/TRUTHFUL ABOUT DEEP SCRATCHES ON TOP TABLE AND MAIN TABLE AND NO PHOTOSBUYER BEWARE; VINTAGE/CONSITENT WITH AGE DOES NOT MEAN DEEP SCRATCHES ON TWO TOPS; HAD I KNOWN PIECE NEEDS TO BE TOTALLY REDONE I WOULD NEVER HAVE PURCHASED; BIDDERS WERE MISLEAD BECAUSE IF DEEP SCRATCHES ON TOP AND TOP TABLE WERE KNOWN, THIS PIECE WOULD NOT HAVE SOLD ANYWHERE NEAR THIS PRICE. I WROTE A HIGHLY DETAILED LETTER AND DID NOT RECEIVE A RESPONSE WHICH SPEAKS VOLUMES. WILL NOT PURCHASE FURNITURE WITH THEM AGAIN; NOT SAYING I WOULD NOT PURCHASE SMALLER ITEMS; JUST NOT FURNITURE.
Report
Michael
Houston, Texas
Oct 13, 2020
Marcy
Port Charlotte, Florida
Oct 09, 2020
Do not use their shippersOn August 19 I won a small shelf from this auction house. Payment was made promptly, it was only $1.39. The shelf was very small. I immediately called one of the two shippers listed on their site. No response. I emailed the second shipper, no response. On and on this went, with numerous phone calls and emails sent to both shippers... no response. It is now October 9. I finally got a phone call from the shipper, only because the auction house employee grabbed them while they were there to pick up other items. I spoke with Frank from the UPS store. He very nonchalantly told me shipping for the shelf would be $40 to $50, maybe even more. It was abundantly clear he did not want to deal with my item. I told the auction house to keep my $1.39, as they might very well need that money in the future if their shipping policies don't change. To be clear, I have been dealing with auction shipping for a long time now, and this was the only place that so significantly gouged me for such a small item.
Report
David
Rosemead, California
Oct 08, 2020
Ed
Madeira Beach, Florida
Oct 07, 2020
Many items, fairly priced, great shipping recommendationsI've purchased several items through the auctions. Been satisfied with all of them. The process is virtually seamless, I use their recommended shippers (usually a UPS Store). I live in Florida so shipping can be a bit pricey but worth it to have my items picked up, packed and shipped. Will continue to monitor and participate in The Benefit Shop Foundation Auctions.
Report
Timothy
Hackettstown, New Jersey
Oct 07, 2020
Jim
Howards Grove, Wisconsin
Oct 07, 2020
Isabel
Nanaimo, Canada
Oct 07, 2020
Sandra
Holiday, Florida
Oct 07, 2020
Shipping Partner ASAP the best!Great shipping prices and packing!
Report
Karla
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Oct 07, 2020
Great Auction House-Amazing FindsAuction house offers quality items that are often unique. I have been bidding with the Benefit Shop Foundation for several years now and plan to continue.
Report
Carole
Clearwater, Florida
Oct 07, 2020
Beautiful!Very beautiful!!!
Report
Stephen
Somers, New York
Oct 07, 2020
Brandon
Brooklyn, New York
Oct 07, 2020
Bernardo
Trieste, Italy
Oct 05, 2020
Charlotte
Cocoa, Florida
Oct 02, 2020
John
Fayetteville, New York
Oct 01, 2020
Shipping was a HassleNumerous attempts at the ups store via email and telephone. Contacted Benefit Shop and they acted like they could care less about my problem. Much quicker response from the other shipper listed. Not thrilled with the whole transaction.
Report
Michael
Cheshire, Connecticut
Sep 23, 2020
PATRICIA
Cumming, Georgia
Sep 20, 2020
Emily
New York, New York
Sep 18, 2020
Stephen
Stamford, Connecticut
Sep 16, 2020
A Treasure at Every AuctionI discovered that an auction house that is only a half hour from my house always has an interesting collection of items for sale. I only started bidding about two months ago but I seem to find something special to bid on at every auction. The people who run the place are courteous and helpful. The pickup process is very easy, even in the COVID era. The proceeds are given to local charities so I fill my house with treasure while I help those less fortunate than I. I have gotten some amazing items at very reasonable prices. You can too.
Report
James
Sandy Springs, Georgia
Sep 16, 2020
All goes rhe way it should.Operation well managed.
Report
Annemarie
West Roxbury, Massachusetts
Sep 16, 2020
the benefit shopi have won numerous items from the benefit shop and each time hey have been lovely to work with. i always like to bid on their auctions.
Report
Ellen
Stamford, Connecticut
Sep 16, 2020
Michael
Hudson, New York
Sep 16, 2020
Professional and honestAlways a pleasure working with this auction house
Report
Gerald
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Sep 16, 2020
Gary
Plesantville, New York
Sep 16, 2020
Rebecca
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Sep 16, 2020
Leslie
Bedford, New York
Sep 16, 2020
Gustavo
Guttenberg, New Jersey
Sep 16, 2020
Professional servicesGreat experience with this transaction. Very professional auction house.
Report
T L
Winston-salem, North Carolina
Sep 15, 2020
PAUL
Grayland, Washington
Sep 15, 2020
Christopher
New York, New York
Sep 11, 2020
Rita
Brooklyn, New York
Sep 09, 2020
Frederica
New York, New York
Sep 09, 2020
Alvin
Bluffton, South Carolina
Sep 09, 2020
The total process was simple and easy. No hassle.From the bidding process to making the purchase and arranging shipping, the process was simple and easy.
Report
Douglas
Charlotte, North Carolina
Sep 09, 2020
Angela
Wayne, New Jersey
Sep 09, 2020
Timothy
Hackettstown, New Jersey
Sep 09, 2020
Natalie
Adamstown, Maryland
Sep 09, 2020
View:
50
placeholderplaceholder
Get notifications from your favorite auctioneers.
placeholderplaceholder
As Seen On
placeholder
placeholder
placeholder
placeholder
placeholder
Shop With Confidence
Since 2002, LiveAuctioneers has made exceptional items available for safe purchase in secure online auctions.
placeholder