logo
Weekly Auctions of Exceptional Items
Log In

Bidder Reviews for Hockessin Auction Company (61)

3.5 out of 5.0 Stars
5 Star
28% (17)
4 Star
7% (4)
3 Star
15% (9)
2 Star
18% (11)
1 Star
33% (20)

1-50 of 61 Reviews

Filter:
All Ratings
Sort:
Highest Rated
Bryan
Cathedral City, California
Apr 21, 2019
Dec 18-21st April have not received goods and no reply from HockessinAs on 21st April 2019 I have not received the goods I have won the bid from Hockessin. Payment has been made. Many emails were sent to Hockessin, no replies at all. Mid March I had to contact my credit card, I love this avenue of shopping but it has made me scared to purchase items of more than USD5000 which I am likely to lose and not recover at all. Well contacted Live Auctioneers and the only recourse is that they have stopped the auction house and ask me to contact my credit card to cancel the payment.
Report
Radiomir Panerai Dealer Wall Clock
Don
Houston, Texas
Mar 02, 2019
They owe me approximately $260.00 +. I would appreciate a refund. I work with 10 auction houses a week for years and this is the first shady and dis honest house I have come across. This is not the face of LIVEAUCTIONEERS. COM!!!!!!
Report
Diego Rivera Portfolio
Armany
Las Vegas, Nevada
Feb 26, 2019
Kenny Scharf, Screenprint, Signed/Numbered
Yan Yi
Southampton, Pennsylvania
Feb 08, 2019
Appreciated the in house shipping making the purchasing easy; however, never responded to my email regarding a broken piece. Unresponsive and low availability to address concern.
Report
Grouping of Baccarat Crystal (Perfume)
Welby
Bird In Hand, Pennsylvania
Feb 05, 2019
I am utterly convinced that Hockessin Auction Company is a criminal enterprise engaged in intentional, systematic sale of forgeries. I would ask for your help in ensuring that they are reported to the police for a raid of their facility and an investigation of their records. What I received from the was confirmed as a forgery by a leading Peruvian expert on the artist, and I noticed later that they had sold the same piece previously, which likely means that they were already on notice from the prior buyer when they sold it to me that it was a forgery. I have subsequently heard other similar complaints, and it’s shady that they don’t allow pickup. Additionally, they refuse to answer any call from my number or respond to my emails.
Report
Fernando de Szyszlo (Peruvian, 1925-2017)
Kevin
San Jose, California
Jan 30, 2019
After payment is made for the lot (s) and the shipping, Hockessin should send an email saying there will be an alert once the lot has been packed, perhaps give a target date for it to leave your facility and be patient. This would have helped me, the buyer's stress level wondering where things are.
Report
John Bunyan Bristol (American, 1826-1909)
Kevin
Dacula, Georgia
Jan 26, 2019
Ferrari Collectable
Hyon
Jacksonville, Florida
Jan 19, 2019
Rooster Weather Vane
Eric
Saint-lambert, Canada
Jan 17, 2019
I am satisfied with the item I purchased, and HAC followed the guidelines they provided on Liveauctioneers. However, communication with the company was difficult (no response to emails, usually no answer on the phone), and there is no online tracking of the purchase on a website. Above all, I thought that the shipping cost for a single medium size painting was outrageous: 180 $US!!! This is at the very least 100 $more than what it really costs for priority shipping with USPS. I checked with another auction company, and they charge 68 $for the exact same service. This is simply abuse and should be reported.
Report
Claude Langevin (Canadian, b. 1942)
Tiziano
Reggio Nell'emilia, Italy
Jan 16, 2019
it was a very bad experience because the Les Must De Cartier lighter is fake. It is a reproduction. As you can read the auction announcement does not specify that it is a reproduction! I will open a formal complaint.
Report
Cartier Lighter
Bruce
Stevensville, Montana
Jan 14, 2019
I only have ONE concern... I asked you to contact the sellers of the Peter Beard items so they could give me a written letter or email about the provenance. I was told they said yes, but I have not gotten anything! I wish they would call me at ********** or email at ********** Thank you IN ADVANCE!
Report
Peter Beard (American, b. 1938)
Ed
Saskatoon, Canada
Jan 14, 2019
Your shipping charges were unusually high.
Report
Reynolds Beal (American 1866-1951)
Thomas F
Statesville, North Carolina
Jan 12, 2019
Unfortunately item arrived broken in 3 pieces. Shipping carton had no glass/fragile noting on box exterior
Report
Dale Chihuly, Sea Form Glass
Scott
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Jan 12, 2019
After many purchases through Live Autioneers with great success. Hockessins has been a horrible Auction house. I will not Bid on their auctions again.
Report
Piaget Clock
Tom
New York City, New York
Jan 11, 2019
Book Signed by Damien Hirst
Stacy
Haslett, Michigan
Jan 09, 2019
Never received the item and company will not return emails.
Report
Louis Vuitton Gold Necklace
Jacqueline
Miami, Florida
Jan 09, 2019
Did I just pay $500 for a page from a catalogue? What is this?
Report
Roy Lichtestein Signed Alka-Seltzer
Bill
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Jan 08, 2019
Shipping is horribly overcharging. They charge for premium service and ship by wagon train it appears. So far a very bad experience. I'll do my best to avoid this auction house in the future. Just checked the tracking number, and the item I purchased is still in New Jersey. But, one thing for sure is the auction house has their money.
Report
Three Chiefs
Anne
Hudson, Florida
Jan 08, 2019
Lost 2 items I won.
Report
Anne
Hudson, Florida
Jan 07, 2019
Lost 2 items I won.
Report
John
North Massapequa, New York
Jan 06, 2019
Charles Schulz Drawing
Ken
Amherst, Wisconsin
Jan 06, 2019
E.B. French Impressionist Drawing
Wolfgang
Millersburg, Ohio
Jan 06, 2019
Andy Warhol, Estate Authenticated Portfolio
Jay
Brooklyn, New York
Jan 05, 2019
Totally satisfied with the ease of it all.
Report
Andre Derain (French, 1880-1954)
Don
Dallas, Texas
Jan 05, 2019
Question about condition was not returned. Descriptions were vague.
Report
Arturo R. Luz (Filipino, 1925)
grace
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Jan 05, 2019
After payment included the shipping charges It took 20 day for me received the item.
Report
Frank Romero (American, b. 1941)
Philip
Atlanta, Georgia
Jan 05, 2019
The shipping costs should be more appropriate for the items. Responsiveness to requests can take too long. Delivery can be delayed and incomplete.
Report
Georges Braque, Signed Print
Howard
Morganville, New Jersey
Jan 05, 2019
Lebron James Signed Photograph
Deron
Hawthorne, California
Jan 02, 2019
paid two week ago no item no tracking
Report
Chinese Jade Cup and Saucer
Benny
Gieten, Netherlands
Nov 29, 2018
Baljit
Derwood, Maryland
Nov 08, 2018
Bill
Boca Raton, Florida
Nov 07, 2018
Yes, they sold me a fake Andy Warhol (Total $16, 733.) and will not communicate with me, this company is despicable and I don't understand how you can collaborate with them. to make things worse, neither will your company, I now have the FBI involved. After leaving numerous messages with live auctioneers and receiving a brief response from someone in your company who either no longer works there or is not able to access her e-mail, I was even issued a case number. Nothing, this started with a dispute with Hockessin Auction Company and has now turned in to a serious matter with Live Auctioneers who are ignoring the messages I have left with every department. I can't speak to a person EVER and am now being ignored. How many attempts will it take to get a response from anyone? Bill . **********
Report
Rob
San Diego, California
Nov 07, 2018
Christopher
Wenham, Massachusetts
Nov 07, 2018
Paid for items online still have no shipping confirmation
Report
Alex
Sheffiled, Massachusetts
Nov 07, 2018
They had extremely poor communication between auction house and client... they almost forced in house shipping... I would contact them to resolve issues!!!! I am not the only one complaining!!!! look on yelp.... Alex
Report
Anonymous
Oct 11, 2018
Anonymous
Oct 10, 2018
Anonymous
Oct 09, 2018
awesome
Report
Anonymous
Oct 09, 2018
Since I haven't heard back from the auction house I can not give a complete opinion on how this experience has been but is boardlining on very dissatisfied due to the time lapse since the sale
Report
Anonymous
Sep 13, 2018
i am very dissatisfied with the shipping process because i have got an invoice with more than usd. 1000.00 (onethousand) and i was told this is the less expensive shipping to austria you can offer. so i had to ask for shipping to my stepson in arizona, and he has to ship the print to austria with usp or usps. many times i bought prints from albers, judd etc at auction houses in the usa and i have never payed more than usd 200.00 for shipping and handling to austria. sometimes only usd 70.00 up to 100.00 usd. 1000.00 dollar is more than a flight ticket from austria to the usa and back.....
Report
Anonymous
Sep 12, 2018
Very pleasant and very helpful ooverthe phone. Nice is GOOD.! I will buy from them again.
Report
Anonymous
Sep 05, 2018
Over charged shipping/handling fees. Called and told will reduce the shipping charge but still charged my credit card with full amount (small three size paintings charged $121. Called reduce to $86 but still charged $121)
Report
Anonymous
Sep 05, 2018
Anonymous
Sep 05, 2018
Anonymous
Sep 04, 2018
There was no confirmation that my payment was received or subsequent update when my purchase would be shipped. Even though the invoice said they ship from 10-14 days after payment is received, information on my shipment was not sent until I emailed them a reminder that it was 14 days after the invoice was paid. Fourteen days is too long; especially, when the auction house charges, ships, and payment is sent within hours of the invoice.
Report
Anonymous
Sep 04, 2018
I am positive that my purchase is not authentic,
Report
Anonymous
Aug 09, 2018
Anonymous
Aug 09, 2018
A flat rate for shipping was stated on the site for the items I was bidding on, but when the invoice came through the shipping was about 4 x the original amount. I was able to negotiate it down to $30 an item, but this is still ridiculous. I shop on ebay all the time, and NEVER have to pay the inflated shipping costs I was charged. How will I know what Hockessin actually paid for shipping? Someone is clearly making a profit off of shipping and handling and I do not know if I will ever bid with this house again.
Report
Anonymous
Aug 08, 2018
Anonymous
Jun 13, 2018
View:
50
iphoneandroidPhone
As Seen On
NBC
ABC
Today
Chicago Tribune
Architectural Digest
Shop With Confidence
Since 2002, LiveAuctioneers has made exceptional items available for safe purchase in secure online auctions.
BACK TO TOP