×
Log In
Chinese Dreamstone Panel marble, carved wood; engraved
Chinese Cup, Beijing, beginning of 20th c. silver,Chinese Figure of Guanyin, Ming  Dynasty (1368-1644)
DoneFri, Aug 16, 2013 3:00 PM UTC

Asian Art, European Paintings and Graphics.

Part 1 of this auction is Asian Art. It is mostly focused around Chinese art but you can also find objects from Japan, Tibet, Nepal, Vietnam or Korea. Among others, the assortment includes bronze figures, metal and ceramic vessels, jade objects, examples of painting, embroidery and furniture. Collected objects are dated back to the Han Dynasty. We particularly recommend a beautifully carved rhinoceros horn bowl (lot 208), a rare Dreamstone panel (lot 214) or a splendid figure of Buddha Shakyamuni (lot 360).

In Part 2 we offer a collection of 170 paintings and graphics, mainly by Polish artists from the second half of the 19th century and the 20th century. We present works by the greatest Polish artists: Jan Stanislawski ("Landscape" - lot 501), Teodor Axentowicz ("Nude Against Horse Chestnut" - lot 502), Juliusz Kossak ("Sketches" - lot 505) Jacek Malczewski ("Sketch" - lot 503), Zdzislaw Beksiński ("Melancholy", 1976 - lot 636), Henryk Stazewski ("Composition" - lot 637) or Tadeusz Kantor's drawing ("Untitled" - lot 640). In the graphics section, special attention should be paid to Jerzy Nowosielski's work ("Swimmer", 1995 - lot 638) or Jan Lebenstein's piece ("Susanne" - 1973, lot 660).

Auction schedule
Lots 201-415 (Asian Art): 8AM PT (5PM CET)
Lots 501-670 (Paintings and Graphics): 10.30AM PT (7.30PM CET)