logo
Weekly Auctions of Exceptional Items
Log In

Bidder Reviews for Palm Beach Modern Auctions (67)

4.4 out of 5.0 Stars
5 Star
84% (56)
4 Star
6% (4)
3 Star
3% (2)
2 Star
1% (1)
1 Star
6% (4)
trophy
Accurate Descriptions
trophy
Easy Payments
trophy
Seamless Shipping

1-50 of 67 Reviews

Filter:
All Ratings
Sort:
Highest Rated
Joseph
Palm Beach, Florida
Jun 10, 2021
Easiest transactions in the worldEverything works like Swiss clockwork at PBMA
Report
Palm Beach Modern Auctions logo
Palm Beach Modern Auctions Jun 10, 2021
Thank you for the wonderful comment and sharing it with others on Liveauctioneers. Our team works hard to make it all come together and I will make sure to pass your comment on to them also. If ever we disappoint or you have any suggestions, please email us at info@modernauctions.com. Best, Wade Terwilliger President
Albert
Palm Springs, California
Jun 09, 2021
Truly customer friendly, they are honest and greatI feel comfortable and always satisfied, true pros
Report
Palm Beach Modern Auctions logo
Palm Beach Modern Auctions Jun 10, 2021
Thank you for you working with us and for your positive review. I will share the your review with our team. Regards, Wade Terwilliger President
Peter
Miami Shores, Florida
Jun 05, 2021
Great auction house!Great overall.
Report
Palm Beach Modern Auctions logo
Palm Beach Modern Auctions Jun 07, 2021
Thank you working with our auction house and for your review. Regards, Wade Terwilliger President
Lazaro
Miami Lakes, Florida
Feb 27, 2021
Item exactly as described, good service, easyEverything went smoothly with the process. They are well organized. Nice items at auction
Report
Palm Beach Modern Auctions logo
Palm Beach Modern Auctions Mar 01, 2021
Congratulations and thank you for bidding with our auction house. A special thank you from our entire team for your feedback and positive review. Be well, Wade Terwilliger President
Tony
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Feb 27, 2021
Palm Beach Modern Auctions logo
Palm Beach Modern Auctions Mar 02, 2021
Congratulations on your purchase! Thank you for bidding with us and your positive review. If we can be of further assistance, please let us know. Be well, Wade Terwilliger President
Brad
Creve Coeur, Missouri
Feb 27, 2021
Palm Beach Modern Auctions logo
Palm Beach Modern Auctions Mar 02, 2021
Congratulations on your purchase! Thank you for bidding with us and your positive review. If we can be of further assistance, please let us know. Be well, Wade Terwilliger President
Cameron
Dallas, Texas
Nov 02, 2020
Palm Beach Modern Auctions logo
Palm Beach Modern Auctions Mar 02, 2021
Congratulations on your purchase! Thank you for bidding with us and your positive review. If we can be of further assistance, please let us know. Be well, Wade Terwilliger President
Heather
Cedar Key, Florida
Oct 31, 2020
Palm Beach Modern Auctions logo
Palm Beach Modern Auctions Mar 02, 2021
Congratulations on your purchase! Thank you for bidding with us and your positive review. If we can be of further assistance, please let us know. Be well, Wade Terwilliger President
Wade
West Palm Beach, Florida
Oct 31, 2020
Palm Beach Modern Auctions logo
Palm Beach Modern Auctions Mar 02, 2021
Congratulations on your purchase! Thank you for bidding with us and your positive review. If we can be of further assistance, please let us know. Be well, Wade President
Robert
Kent, WA
Oct 31, 2020
Very good Customer service!I recommend buying from this auction house
Report
Palm Beach Modern Auctions logo
Palm Beach Modern Auctions Mar 02, 2021
Congratulations and thank you for your positive review and comment. If we can be of further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us. Regards, Wade Terwilliger President
Greg
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Aug 17, 2020
EXCEPTIONAL 5 ***** Full Service Auction House!!! BEST on LIVE AUCTIONEERS!!Will DEFINITELY Purchase from AGAIN!!!!!
Report
Palm Beach Modern Auctions logo
Palm Beach Modern Auctions Mar 02, 2021
Congratulations and thank you for your positive review and comments. Please let us know if you need any further assistance. Best, Wade Terwilliger President
Renato
Elk Grove, California
May 24, 2020
Shipping is RidiculousFirst of all, before the owner responds to my review that they are not responsible for shipping, blah, blah, blah, yeah, I know, I get it. The auction house is separate from shipping. With that said, I would warn anybody shipping to California to think twice about bidding from this auction. You can take a look at the lots I won: 0081 and 0083, on the May 2 auction. Those are not some 18th century, fragile furniture, or 5 foot by 5 foot oil on canvas painting. Those were small items that could fit into a shoebox size box. I know because when I received the items, I packed them into a shoe box to confirm my theory. I was originally quoted $125 for shipping which I found ridiculous, so I got other shipping estimate. I was shocked to hear estimates for more. I was finally "relieved" to find someone who could ship to me for "only" $85. Usually, in the normal world, if you pay $85, you would get overnight express shipping. No, I got standard, over 1 week long, generic shipping. When I relayed my exasperation to the auction company about the amount of shipping, they seem to get offended that I was shocked. Well, I will always be shocked to pay "only" $85 for shoe box sized items weighing less than 2 lbs. Sorry. Too bad, because everything else was okay with my experience. But, because shipping is too cost prohibitive, I won't be bidding with them again.
Report
Palm Beach Modern Auctions logo
Palm Beach Modern Auctions May 26, 2020
Dear Renato, Thank you for taking time to share your frustrations regarding shipping. The cost of shipping should definitely be taken into account by a bidder prior to bidding, as the cost of shipping can sometimes exceed the cost of an item purchased at auction. Many of our bidders ask for our list of shippers or assistance with a quote prior to bidding and we are happy to help. Additionally, Darin, our Client Services Liaison, is available to help bidders obtain quotes if they are having difficulty. Although you only purchased two lots, the lots included approximately 17 individual items that I assume your shipper had to individually wrap. We are not a shipper for insurance reasons, but I know that shippers take a variety of factors into account such as labor, materials, and distance. I have shared your experience with our staff and although our Terms & Conditions along with the "Helpful Hints" letter you would have received as a bidder registered withLiveauctioneers.com suggest bidders get shipping quotes in advance of bidding, we are going to expand the suggestion and include it on our website and when answering bidder questions. Again, I am sorry you were unhappy with part of your experience with us. Regards, Wade Terwilliger President
Carter
Winston Salem, North Carolina
May 24, 2020
Palm Beach Modern Auctions logo
Palm Beach Modern Auctions Mar 02, 2021
Congratulations and thank you for your positive review and comment. If we can be of further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us. Regards, Wade Terwilliger President
Elizabeth
Lake Worth, Florida
May 24, 2020
Palm Beach Modern!!!Excellent auctions and a delightful group of people to work with!
Report
Palm Beach Modern Auctions logo
Palm Beach Modern Auctions Mar 02, 2021
Congratulations and thank you for your positive review and comments. I have shared your comments with our team! Be well, Wade Terwilliger President
Kenneth
New York, New York
May 24, 2020
Palm Beach Modern Auctions logo
Palm Beach Modern Auctions Mar 02, 2021
Thank you so much for working with our team and leaving a positive review. We are here if you have any questions or need assistance. Regards, Wade Terwilliger President
Will
New York, New York
May 24, 2020
no problems at allThe art was perfect-just as described. The auction house provided a list of movers, and I quickly found someone who delivered on time for a reasonable price.
Report
Palm Beach Modern Auctions logo
Palm Beach Modern Auctions Mar 02, 2021
Congratulations on your purchase and thank you for the positive review. If we can be of further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us. Regards, Wade Terwilliger, President
Brian
Sandy, Utah
May 24, 2020
Dominic
Tempe, Arizona
May 24, 2020
Palm Beach Modern Auctions logo
Palm Beach Modern Auctions May 26, 2020
Thank you for the 5-Star rating. If we can be of assistance with bidding, consigning, shipping, etc., please feel free to contact us. Good luck bidding!
Greg
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Apr 08, 2020
Best auction house on the planet!!!!Service and quality Beyond all other auction houses!! Professional!! Knowledgeable!!! A + + + + + + The Best!!!!!!
Report
Palm Beach Modern Auctions logo
Palm Beach Modern Auctions May 26, 2020
Thank you for the 5-Star rating and your comments. If we can be of assistance with bidding, consigning, shipping, etc., please feel free to contact us. Good luck with bidding!
Steve
Mclean, Virginia
Mar 26, 2020
Great auction, great experience, great deliverySuper happy with PBA. Absolute professionals.
Report
Palm Beach Modern Auctions logo
Palm Beach Modern Auctions May 26, 2020
Thank you for the 5-Star rating and your comments. If we can be of assistance with bidding, consigning, shipping, etc., please feel free to contact us.
Wade
West Palm Beach, Florida
Feb 29, 2020
Phasit
Elmhurst, New York
Jan 23, 2020
Palm Beach Modern Auctions logo
Palm Beach Modern Auctions May 26, 2020
Thank you for the 5-Star rating. If we can be of assistance with bidding, consigning, shipping, etc., please feel free to contact us.
Carter
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Nov 30, 2019
Palm Beach Modern Auctions logo
Palm Beach Modern Auctions Dec 02, 2019
Thank you for the 5-Star rating. If we can be of assistance with the bidding, consigning, shipping, etc., please feel free to contact us. Happy Holidays
Wade
West Palm Beach, Florida
Nov 30, 2019
Wade
West Palm Beach, Florida
Oct 17, 2019
Palm Beach Modern Auctions logo
Palm Beach Modern Auctions Oct 18, 2019
Thank you for the 5-Star rating. If we can ever be of assistance regarding the bidding or consigning process, please feel free to contact us.
Wayne
Chicago, Illinois
Oct 17, 2019
Palm Beach Modern Auctions logo
Palm Beach Modern Auctions Oct 18, 2019
Thank you for the 5-Star rating. If we can ever be of assistance regarding the bidding or consigning process, please feel free to contact us.
Gary
Seattle, Washington
Oct 17, 2019
EASY to work with!clear communicators, easy payment system and best of all the took care of shipping for a reasonable fee PLUS the items arrives rapidly and in beautiful shape. I'm considering something now in their latest auction
Report
Palm Beach Modern Auctions logo
Palm Beach Modern Auctions Oct 18, 2019
Thank you for the 5-Star rating. The Bruce of Los Angeles auction was a success with 100 % of lots sold. Thank you for bidding and congratulations of winning. If we can ever be of assistance regarding the bidding or consigning process, please feel free to contact us.
Nadine
New York, New York
Jun 19, 2019
Print was miscatalogued as an original painting-Palm Beach Modern Auctions mis-catalogued and mis-represented a print as a painting-a huge, huge difference. We all thought we were bidding on a unique painting, since that's what the Auction House promised. Multiple bidders bid up this "painting". We were the winning bidder of what, unfortunately, turned out to be an inexpensive, common silkscreen-one that Palm Beach Modern catalogued as a painting. The listing included a story about how the consignor obtained the unique signed "painting" directly from the artist. Once I received the artwork and inspected it, I sent an urgent, and very upset letter insisting on a refund. I instead received a curt response from the President of the auction house, Wade Terwilliger, that they were under no obligation whatsoever to refund our money, but "would consider the information you have presented and respond when time permits." He did not deny their misrepresentation on Liveauctioneers-it was blatant and undeniable-and he made no apology either. I wrote a polite letter explaining that I assumed there was no deliberate deception and nothing nefarious at all, but rather the auction house made a mistake (albeit an inexcusable and careless one). Mr. Terwilliger replied by confirming that they would not issue any refund and "If you have any further questions, please refer to the Terms & Conditions, to which you agreed in order to bid." I said I was still hoping they would do the right thing and issue a refund-to which I received no reply. This is unacceptable behavior for any auction house hosted by Liveauctioneers or any other platform.
Report
Rick
Palm Springs, California
Jun 17, 2019
Palm Beach Modern Auctions logo
Palm Beach Modern Auctions Oct 18, 2019
Thank you for the 5-Star rating. If we can ever be of assistance regarding the bidding or consigning process, please feel free to contact us.
Andres
Los Angeles, California
Jun 15, 2019
Palm Beach Modern Auctions logo
Palm Beach Modern Auctions Oct 18, 2019
Thank you for the 5-Star rating. If we can ever be of assistance regarding the bidding or consigning process, please feel free to contact us.
Larry
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Jun 15, 2019
Palm Beach Modern Auctions logo
Palm Beach Modern Auctions Oct 18, 2019
Thank you for the 5-Star rating. If we can ever be of assistance regarding the bidding or consigning process, please feel free to contact us.
Cary
New York, New York
Mar 19, 2019
was very happy with thier quick replies i had made my own shipping arrangements but heard of no issues at teh pick-up end of things i would definately buy from them again
Report
William
Otis, Massachusetts
Mar 19, 2019
Palm Beach Modern Auctions logo
Palm Beach Modern Auctions Oct 18, 2019
Thank you for the 5-Star rating. If we can ever be of assistance regarding the bidding or consigning process, please feel free to contact us.
Lee Dicks
Seattle, Washington
Mar 17, 2019
Palm Beach Modern Auctions logo
Palm Beach Modern Auctions Oct 18, 2019
Thank you for the 5-Star rating. If we can ever be of assistance regarding the bidding or consigning process, please feel free to contact us.
Phillip
Piermont, New York
Mar 17, 2019
I was sent to a UPS store that tried to overcharge shipping costs of over $57. After paying for the item, the 30 % overcharge instead of 18 % and taxes the $75 sneakers became $99.95. Then when I went to pick the lot up. I was charged $6 ladding fee. The entire ordeal was unacceptable. I would NOT buy, recommend or even go ito Palm Beach Modern Auction. PBMA house is for people that should not be at any auction. They are by far the worst auction house I ever dealt with.
Report
Palm Beach Modern Auctions logo
Palm Beach Modern Auctions Oct 18, 2019
Dear , I am sorry you were not pleased with your experience. Palm Beach Modern Auctions & Urban Culture Auctions works with thousands of successful bidders each year. Those bidders clearly understand that shipping and the associated charges are the responsibility of the buyer. Our firm provides to successful bidders, as a convenience, a list of shippers that other bidders have had success with. The choice of a shipper and the terms of the shipping arrangements and fees is with the bidder. The bidder has the choice to pick up the item themselves or use a shipper. The buyers premium, in the auction you participated in, was 30 %. It was part of our terms & conditions. Each bidder must accept the terms & conditions in order to bid in our auctions. You agreed to those terms. You were not charged a $6 ladding fee when you picked the item up. You were charged 6 % sales tax as required by the State of Florida and a 2.5 % fee for using a credit card. Bidding at auction is a legal transaction. There are duties and responsibilities required of both the auction house and the bidder. For this reason, the bidder must be an adult, age 18 years and older.
Robert
Delray Beach, Florida
Mar 16, 2019
very nice staff at auction house
Report
Palm Beach Modern Auctions logo
Palm Beach Modern Auctions Oct 18, 2019
Thank you for the 5-Star rating. Thank you also for the comment on our staff. They work very hard to provide consignors and bidders with the information they need to have a good auction experience. If we can ever be of assistance regarding the bidding or consigning process, please feel free to contact us. Regards, Wade Terwilliger, President
Vincente
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Mar 16, 2019
only one responded on the shipping list, the one who responded was so UPS but was expensive. I got another UPS to handle it and it was just extraordinary. UPS # 4639 the best from my years of dealing with shipper.
Report
Susan
Las Vegas, Nevada
Mar 16, 2019
Great. Will use again. Thank you.
Report
Sam
Stamford, Connecticut
Dec 14, 2018
I paid the auction house for goods purchased. Upon pick up, my shipper sent me photographs of damage to a $26, 000 item. The auction house listed the item as in very good condition when it obviously had a large crack in the item. The person I spoke with on the phone told me that I can take the item and send it back if I were unhappy. I agreed. Five minutes later my shipper called me and told me that the auction house owner was not releasing the goods because he was scared that I was going to dispute the charge with my credit card company. I paid with a good check. The auction house made the shipper unwrap all of the goods that were not a topic of this conversation and did not release any of the items and cancelled the sale. The next day I received an email from the owner telling me to stop payment on my check and they deposited the check the day prior. When I called my back the check had been cleared for three days already. I then asked for my funds to be sent back to me and the auction house did not have the common decency to address my concerns for two days. On the third day I was told that a return check was forthcoming. The check arrived and cleared. The unprofessional manner in which this owner deals with customer is ridicules. Ive spent well over one million dollars on this site alone and have never had an issue or complaint about one single item I have ever purchased. Best regards Sam
Report
Dexter
Gardena, California
Dec 11, 2018
Great Auction Company, Jackie is great help!
Report
Anonymous
Mar 21, 2018
Anonymous
Mar 21, 2018
Anonymous
Mar 09, 2017
Anonymous
Mar 08, 2017
Anonymous
Mar 08, 2017
There was damage to the item purchase which was not noted in the description or it may have been damaged in shipping.
Report
Anonymous
Oct 20, 2016
they sent us someone else's invoice (for a completely different lot) by accident, which is fine. but when we called to ask for the correct invoice, they didn't seem to understand what we were saying and were slightly rude on the phone. Not terrible, just short.
Report
Anonymous
Oct 18, 2016
You do an amazing job attracting sellers with quality items to sell.
Report
Anonymous
Oct 18, 2016
Anonymous
Oct 18, 2016
I only bid on one item but quick easy transaction
Report
Anonymous
Oct 17, 2016
View:
50
iphoneandroidPhone
As Seen On
NBC
ABC
Today
Chicago Tribune
Architectural Digest
Shop With Confidence
Since 2002, LiveAuctioneers has made exceptional items available for safe purchase in secure online auctions.
BACK TO TOP