×
Weekly Auctions of Exceptional Items
0 selections
Log In
0 selections
Budapest, Hungary
DoneSun, May 22, 2016 6:00 PM GMT

10th Vintage Poster Auction - BPG

Budapest Poster Gallery's 10th vintage poster auction will be held on May 22, Sunday at 11 AM PT (2 PM ET, 6 PM GMT and 8 PM in Budapest) and includes hundreds of carefully selected vintage posters in numerous categories: movie, commercial, travel and propaganda posters among others, encompassing the whole 20th century. More than 100 selected movie posters, including such classic sci-fi films as 2001: A Space Odyssey, Planet of the Apes, Alien, westerns like A Fistful of Dollars, Wild Bunch and dozens of other great titles, including The Graduate, Zabriskie Point, Snow White, Charlie Chan, Universal horror classic The Mummy's Hand, Cabaret, Fellini movies, film noir, and so forth. Commercial and travel posters include an international selection of outstanding graphic design, advertising Montreux and Greece by Air France, and some of the finest Hungarian travel posters of the 20th century. Commercial posters are a highlight, with posters from before WWII, beautiful Art Deco and modernist pieces and Mid-century modern classics from the 1960s. The propaganda selection is also strong, with WW1 and WW2 posters, anti-Semitic propaganda, election posters and Socialist Realist communist propaganda posters from the 1950s. Also featured are a number of Avant-garde and modernist books and journals designed by leading Hungarian Avant-garde artists such as Kassak, Bortnyik, Bereny, Irsai.