×
Weekly Auctions of Exceptional Items
0 selections
Log In
0 selections
Budapest, Hungary
DoneSun, Feb 12, 2017 6:00 PM GMT

Vintage Poster Auction

Budapest Poster Gallery's next vintage poster auction will be held on February 12, Sunday at 10 AM PT (1 PM ET, 6 PM GMT and 7 PM in Budapest, Hungary) and includes 331 carefully selected original vintage posters - Hungarian and international pieces -, poster maquettes, rare books and magazines and other ephemera in numerous categories: movie, commercial, travel and Among these are 94 great movie posters, including classic films in all genres - sci-fi, western, horror, film noir, etc. - as Star Wars The Empire Strikes Back, Blade Runner, Beatles Yellow Submarine, The Wizard of Oz, The Graduate, The Magnificent Seven, The Dirty Dozen, Alphaville, Bicycle Thieves, Solaris, The Deer Hunter, My Fair Lady, Easy Rider, 12 Angry Men, Singin' in the Rain, The Conversation, Cool Hand Luke and so forth. Commercial and travel posters include a group of rare works with outstanding graphic design, with posters from before WWII, beautiful Art Deco and modernist pieces. Mid-century modern and typographic posters from the 1960s are an important group. The propaganda selection is also strong, with expressive posters from the Hungarian Soviet Republic, anti-Semitic propaganda, election posters and Socialist Realist communist propaganda posters from the 1950s. Also featured are a number of modernist and Art Deco magazine (covers) and ephemera.