logo
Weekly Auctions of Exceptional Items
Log In

Bidder Reviews for Swann Auction Galleries (25)

4.4 out of 5.0 Stars
5 Star
88% (22)
4 Star
8% (2)
3 Star
4% (1)
2 Star
0% (0)
1 Star
0% (0)
trophy
Accurate Descriptions

1-25 of 25 Reviews

Filter:
All Ratings
Sort:
Highest Rated
John
Corning, New York
Jun 19, 2021
BYRON BROWNE (1907 - 1961, AMERICAN) Untitled, (#88).
Dennis
North Salem, New York
May 16, 2021
EMIL CARDINAUX (1877-1936).  PALACE HOTEL / ST. MORITZ.
Dan
Exton, Pennsylvania
May 03, 2021
DESIGNER UNKNOWN. CHARLIE CHAPLIN DANS MADEMOISELLE
Mark
Brattleboro, Vermont
Apr 21, 2021
Top notch!!!!Excellent house! Courteous and responsive item was exactly as advertised
Report
ANDRÉ KERTÉSZ (1894-1985) Accordionist,
Steven
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Mar 25, 2021
Top notch serviceGreat service and just what you would expect from a long established auction house.
Report
Ueda
Hachioji-shi, Japan
Mar 11, 2021
shipping chargeWhen knocking down at other auction companies, I looked for the delivery company which packs a knocking down work by itself and took an estimate from 2-3 companies. I had my expensive shipping charge stolen in that case. You could also send shipping charge and the packing charge at the cheap price at the same time as a work was remitted, so a swan auction was saved very much.
Report
ALPHONSE MUCHA (1860-1939).  [THE SEASONS / L'HIVER.]
Jared
South Orange, New Jersey
Mar 11, 2021
HENRY PATRICK RALEIGH (1880-1944) "I believe - is it
Will
New York, New York
Feb 25, 2021
James
Chesterton, Indiana
Feb 18, 2021
First time buying from Swan Galleries-Questions?I bid on and won a framed item in their recent auction. I received a question as to whether I wanted to have it shipped with or without the frame. However, I had already sent in my payment that included the frame. I placed two calls without a response so by the time I got a call back they had already cashed my check and turned the item over to their shipping dept. So my main concern was their lack of communication. When we did finally connect, the person was friendly but at that point I had no option. I can also comment that the shipping cost seemed quite high but I will have to determine that whenI get home and see the packing.
Report
MAUD HUMPHREY (1868-1940) "The Golf Girl." [GRAPHICS /
Michael
Scarsdale, New York
Feb 18, 2021
ROBERT "BOB" MONTANA (1920-1975) "Oh, I just adore
Antony
London, United Kingdom
Jan 23, 2021
Excellent and responsive sellerVery good and very responsive, would certainly buy again
Report
M
Larchmont, New York
Jan 07, 2021
HYDE, E. BELCHER. Westchester County. State of New
Dana
Rancho Santa Fe, California
Jan 07, 2021
(DANIEL BOONE.) Daniel Boone Protects His Family.
Karl-Otto
Koeln, Germany
Dec 15, 2020
Excellent auction house!The works was packed properly and sent by Fedex right away.
Report
Steven
Woodstock, Vermont
Dec 03, 2020
Houston
St Simons Island, Georgia
Nov 13, 2020
Always reliable, professional, and friendlySwann continues to offer the finest and rarest (of vintage posters, in my case). Their condition descriptions are always leaning on the conservative side. Every poster I recall purchasing from them is in better condition than I expected. The in-house shipping is a MAJOR plus, not to mention the overly precautious packing methods. Whenever I decide to consign any of my collection, Swann will be one of the first to contact! I continue to anxiously await the next auction, year after year.
Report
Don Marvine (Dates Unknown).  HAVANA / VUELE POR
John
Naples, Florida
Nov 05, 2020
Reliable and experiencedPurchased an item from Swann-description was detailed and representative of actual. Company was professional and responsive throughout-total transparency. Very happy with the purchase and the down to earth handling of the transaction.
Report
Jo Mora (1876-1947).  CALIFORNIA / EL DORADO OF THE
Stuart
Toronto, Canada
Oct 27, 2020
excellent Auction HouseVery happy with service and quality of product purchased. Auction House was prompt and professional. 5 Stars! Buy with confidence.
Report
Donald
Dallas, Texas
Oct 15, 2020
bidding platformBid directly with Swann Galleries. You can use LiveAuctioneers to search for items, but you're much better off going directly through the gallery. The buyer's premium is less and you avoid the risk of double payment (which happened to me... getting a refund/credit was a hassle I didn't need).
Report
Peter
New York, NY
Oct 15, 2020
Greg
Santa Barbara, California
Aug 18, 2020
Map Specialist Was Extremely HelpfulCommunication in general with Swann was excellent. I have to say that I received superb pre-auction advice from Caleb Kiffer. Extremely helpful and his information cemented by decision to buy specific maps. Thank you!
Report
WIT, FREDERICK de. Novissima et Accuratissima Totius
Niall
Lahaska, Pennsylvania
Aug 16, 2020
ORTELIUS, ABRAHAM. Septentrionalium Regionum Descrip.
Michael
Watertown, Connecticut
Jul 23, 2020
First Class Organization in Every Respect.I've dealt with this auction house on several occasions. They are fantastic in every respect from their printed catalogs, description of items, clientele, payment and shipping. I recommend them highly.
Report
SIGNATURE ILLEGIBLE. UNITED STATES LINES / USA. Circa
Martin
Austin, Texas
Jun 26, 2020
Great experienceThorough description of lot and very responsive staff. While shipping was slightly delayed due to COVID, the packing was very well done and safely secured the items during transport. Excellent experience and I highly recommend the auction house.
Report
Francois
Le Chesnay, France
Jun 11, 2020
View:
50
iphoneandroidPhone
As Seen On
NBC
ABC
Today
Chicago Tribune
Architectural Digest
Shop With Confidence
Since 2002, LiveAuctioneers has made exceptional items available for safe purchase in secure online auctions.
BACK TO TOP