Bidder Reviews for Antique Place (60)

4.3 out of 5.0 Stars

1-50 of 61 Reviews

Filter:
All Ratings
Sort:
Highest Rated

Daniel
Boston, MA

Jun 30, 2022
Japanese antique carved Netsuke monochromed figure of a rat on top of an egg. Artist signed. Height

Daniel
Sunrise, FL

Apr 19, 2022
Mechanical singing bird box automaton with a young boy and girl with an umbrella

Adrian
London, GB

Feb 02, 2022
Shipping was an unmitigated disaster
I bought a wonderful Pietre Dure Plaque in a Gilt Frame. I asked about shipping and Richard Hughes recommend UPS I went back and said we buy antiques all around the world and I don't like to use UPS as they often don't know how to pack fragile items Richard Hughes said he always uses UPS and he assured me all would be OK I paid 1, 320 USD to send the plaque to the UK When the box arrived, it had a hole in the side and we could hear broken pieces rattling around inside. UPS had packed the plaque in an enormous box with no supportive packing material to keep the plaque from falling forward out of the frame. The plaque is destroyed. To add insult to injury, we have contacted UPS and Richard Hughes multiple times and neither responds to us. Neither care that a valuable plaque has been damaged or wish to assist us with our insurance claim. Whilst UPS are a separate entity, Richard has a duty of care to his buyers and if he persuades us to use UPS because he 'has a good relationship with them' he should use his contacts to help buyers if things unfortunately go wrong. Disgusted with his attitude.
Report
Antique Place logo
Antique PlaceMay 06, 2022
Your money was fully refunded.
Pietra Dura large plaque of a seated lady holding a jug

Annie J
Santa Fe, NM

Jan 04, 2022
Pietra dura gilt box
Arrived in good condition-beautiful piece! Box lined in deep pink red velvet. One tiny stone missing on top. Very happy to have gotten this genuine work of art!
Report
Antique pietra dura (hard stone) oval gold gilt bronze

Garry
Toronto, CA

Sep 19, 2021
Most honest auction house
By far we had an issue with one item and Richard was so quick to respond and fix the issue. And more than fix it to make you happy. Highly recommend this auction house
Report
Daum Nancy French enamelled vase with flowers and

Michael
Houston, TX

Jun 10, 2021

Louis
Shelton, CT

Apr 01, 2021
EXCELLENT!
Antique Place is top notch. I would purchase from them again. I highly recommend them. Rating is A + + +. Thanks!
Report

Louis
Shelton, CT

Jan 12, 2021
Excellent Buying Experience
I purchase a bronze sculpture and a figurine from this auctions house. Everything went as smooth as clock work. No issues what so ever. It was my pleasure buying for Antique Place. I highly recommend Antique Place. Rating AAA + + +. Thank you so much. Kind Regards, Louis F. in Shelton, CT
Report

Bill
Brandon, FL

Jan 12, 2021
Wrong item listed
Very disappointing experience. I will never bid on another item from them. After getting the invoice and paying, I was informed that the wrong description/item was listed. I had been watching the item since the auction was listed, plenty of time to make any corrections needed. Pictures of the supposed correct item were emailed to me and it was nothing compared to what was shown and I had bid on. With all of the cloisonn é items in the same auction that were passed on, a better substitution could easily have been made.
Report
Antique Place logo
Antique PlaceMay 06, 2022
You were offered another item and you refused! was you money refunded, YES it was and right away. Perhaps you never made a mistake? We do not want someone like you bidding. Have good day.

Leonid
Brooklyn, NY

Jan 12, 2021
Thanks
Thanks
Report

Glen
Palm Beach Gardens, FL

Jul 07, 2020
Wonderful people to buy from.
Huge selection to wonder through.
Report

Charles
Atlanta, GA

Jul 07, 2020
These folks are always a pleasure to deal with.
This auction house is always a pleasure to deal with. I have purchased several lots through them and the experience has been excellent each time. I highly recommend them.
Report

Jaroslav
Naples, FL

May 19, 2020

John
Evanston, IL

May 19, 2020

K
Forest Hills, NY

May 19, 2020
Every element of the transaction was smooth
The item, the payment, the shipping were all friction-less. Easy to deal with.
Report

Charles
Atlanta, GA

May 19, 2020
A pleasure to deal with
These folks are always a pleasure to deal with. Richard Hughes is a real class act and complete professional.
Report

Sharon
Rio Linda, CA

Apr 30, 2020
Beautifully packaged!
The auction had many great items. The hammer price was good. The shipping and packing excellent! I will be back for the next auction.
Report

Howard
Miami, FL

Apr 28, 2020

John
Coventry, GB

Mar 17, 2020
accurate desxriptions & ondition reports
Antique place gaxve excelent service and shipped my items to the United Kingdom.. The items were well acked & thekEEP UP THE GOOB WOTRK! shipping charge was very reasonable. Will defunutely use this auctioneer in future JOHN, COVENTRY U. K.)
Report

Bob
Bettendorf, Luxembourg

Feb 20, 2020

Leonard
Santa Monica, CA

Feb 18, 2020

Joan
Lansdowne, PA

Feb 18, 2020

Greg
Centennial, CO

Dec 31, 2019

Cecil
West Palm Beach, Florida

Dec 31, 2019

Troy
Marietta, GA

Dec 28, 2019

A. G.
Houston, TX

Dec 03, 2019

Steve
Phx., Arizona

Nov 14, 2019
Antique Place logo
Antique PlaceDec 11, 2019
Thanks
Japanese 19 th century cloisonne vase.

Donald
Torrance, CA

Nov 14, 2019
Very helpful
Excellent
Report
Japanese cloisonne jar with cover decorated with flying

Peter
Cambridge, MA

Nov 14, 2019
Antique gold wire  cloisoinne on glass with multiple

Kathleen
Fresno, CA

Oct 04, 2019
Item not as described
Unfortunately the piece I bought from this seller was not in “excellent” condition as stated. The piece had a large part of paint missing upon arrival and after emailing the seller I received no response. Disappointed in this transaction especially since this was a piece of art I’ve been looking forward to purchasing and I spoke directly to the seller When I first purchased it and no word of this issue
Report
Antique Place logo
Antique PlaceDec 11, 2019
This was in very good condition, see photos taken to UPS store and we informed customer to make a claim!!!!!!!!

Amanda
Hong Kong, HK

Oct 01, 2019

Anthony
Baltimore, MD

Oct 01, 2019

peter
Sarasota, FL

Aug 13, 2019

Ernest
Peekskill, NY

Aug 13, 2019

Charles
Atlanta, GA

Aug 13, 2019
These folks are completely professional and do the right thing
This auction house on its own motion reversed a transaction when it discovered that a listed lot I had won had undisclosed damage a repair. Absolute professionals. One of the best experiences I have had in 15 years of collecting and bidding.
Report

Kenneth
Fort Myers, FL

May 28, 2019

Andrea
Annapolis, MD

May 28, 2019

peter
Sarasota, FL

May 28, 2019
Circa 1900 Japanese studio porcelain vase  decorated

Stashu
Tillamook, OR

Apr 30, 2019
20 th century Japanese cloisonne vase. Decorated with a

Brian
Burnaby, CA

Apr 23, 2019
20 th century Japanese silver wire cloisonne vase

Louis
Fort Myers, FL

Apr 23, 2019
Carved polychromed smiling Buddah netsuke. Artist

Edward
Delray Beach, FL

Apr 23, 2019
Late 19 th early 20 th century Japanese vase

peter
Sarasota, FL

Jan 08, 2019
Antique Japanese carved stone of a fish jumping out of

John
Kirkwood, MO

Jan 05, 2019
Late 19 th century Chinese carved wood horse standing

Thomas
Prince Frederick, MD

Jan 05, 2019
A carved Netsuke figure of a snake wrapped around a

Brian
Burnaby, CA

Jan 04, 2019
Great people, very helpful and organized. Helped locate good shipper. Very satisfied. Would deal with them again or recommend them.
Report
20th Century cloisonne vase with birds and flowers on

Melvin
Boston, Massachusetts

Dec 25, 2018
Excellent service. Great. Very satisfied
Report
Erte (Romain de Tirtoff, French, 1892-1990).

Anonymous

Apr 17, 2018
Item was quickly shipped and well packed to arrive safe and sound. Great experience!
Report

Anonymous

Nov 22, 2017

Anonymous

Sep 07, 2017
Need more assistance when damage comes due to bad attention from packing company suggested by the auction house........
Report
View:
50
iphoneandroidPhone

Get notifications from your favorite auctioneers.

As Seen On
NBC
ABC
Today
Chicago Tribune
Architectural Digest
Shop With Confidence
Since 2002, LiveAuctioneers has made exceptional items available for safe purchase in secure online auctions.
TOP