Montgomery Auction, MD - Read over 181 Reviews from Customers
LiveAuctioneers Logo

Bidder Reviews for Montgomery Auction (181)

badge TOP RATED
4.6 out of 5.0 Stars
trophy
Accurate Descriptions
trophy
Quick Responses
trophy
Easy Payments
trophy
Seamless Shipping

1-50 of 181 Reviews

All Ratings
Highest Rated

Thomas
Philadelphia, PA

Feb 18, 2024
Chinese MOP Inlay Lacquered Snuff Bottle

Niping
Chappaqua, NY

Feb 12, 2024
In-house shipping makes everything so easy and simple
Everything is perfect, especially in-house shipping
Report
Chinese Overlay Glass Snuff Bottle

Nina
Fort Myers, FL

Feb 07, 2024
Group of Chinese Wood Plate Stands

Carol Ann
Virginia Beach, VA

Jan 29, 2024
Chinese Mahjong Set in a Box

Diane
Highlands Ranch, CO

Jan 28, 2024
Swarovski Crystal Train Set

Audrey
Carmel By The Sea, CA

Nov 19, 2023
Beautiful item, even better than pictured.
Very pleased with the all transaction. Shipping was fast, thank you...
Report
Chinese Wood Stand with Marble Top

Audrey
Carmel By The Sea, CA

Nov 19, 2023
Beautiful item.... even better than pictured.
Very happy with the quality of jade pendant. Shipping was very quick. Great experience all around, thank you.
Report
Chinese Carved Celadon Jade Pendant

Hsuan
Irvine, CA

Nov 19, 2023
One of the best
Amazing shipping speed!
Report
Chinese Blue and White Porcelain jar

Guangming
North Potomac, MD

Nov 12, 2023
Chinese carved  wood coffee table.

Jin
Indialantic, FL

Nov 07, 2023
Three Pieces of Chinese Silk Embroidery

Wendy
Landrum, SC

Nov 07, 2023
The items were just as advertised
Shipped perfectly, no damage and came quickly. I never have to worry when buying from the auction house. They have the best quality and price and deliver just as you’d expect.
Report
Chinese first day covers and stamps

Niping
Chappaqua, NY

Nov 06, 2023
In-house shipping is excellent!
Perfect in all aspects, particularly the excellent in-house shipping.
Report
Chinese Carved Bangle

Hsuan
Irvine, CA

Oct 27, 2023
Amazing packing and shipping was lightning fast!
Would definitely use this auction house again, best service I have received on liveactioneers
Report
Two Chinese Blue and White Porcelain Jars

Niping
Chappaqua, NY

Oct 25, 2023
A + transaction
A + transaction
Report
Chinese Enameled Snuff Bottle

Audrey
Flushing, NY

Sep 19, 2023
Gilt Thai Bronze Statue on Wood Stand

Sherry
Crystal Lake, IL

Sep 18, 2023
I almost don’t want to tell everybody how much I like Montgomery Auction
I don’t want everyone to know about them. As they’re gaining popularity, I’m having to spend more to win my items. I love them, because they are fair with their pricing, clear and fair with their estimated values, and the shipping prices are also extremely reasonable. If you have participated in any other auctions, you probably know that the shipping is so ridiculous. I’ve given me any of my items back after I paid for them because the shipping was crazy like $100 for a 12 inch vase. Montgomery Auction has always been reasonable with shipping and I receive my items quickly. Like most of the auctions on live auctioneers, they allow you to pay with Zip, which allows you to break your payment into four payments, which is very helpful. Most of them do, but some of them don’t and then that makes it (well for me) challenging. Now, please nobody read my review and don’t participate in my favorite auction.
Report
A Pair of Chinese Turquoise Glazed Candle Holder

Suzanne
Concord, NC

Aug 09, 2023
Easy to work with!
Montgomery Auction was easy to work with. The photos were very good, but the written description didn't give much information. In-house shipping was excellent; the antique Sumida pottery was well packed, and the shipping cost was very reasonable. The covered jar is a great little piece of antique Japanese pottery. I'm looking forward to future auctions with Montgomery Auction.
Report
Japanese Sumida Gawa Pottery Covered Jar

Sherry
Crystal Lake, IL

Aug 08, 2023
This is my favorite auction.
I love the Montgomery Auction because they have the items that I love for one thing. They have antique Asian things, and those are my favorite things. Another reason I love them is because they accurately estimate the value of the items which is very helpful to me. I have my own ways of researching things, but Having them give an accurate and concise estimation of the value that I can trust is so helpful. Some auctions will give the estimation of $10-$10, 000 which is not helpful of all at all. And other ones will give an estimated value that’s way more than the thing could possibly be worth which is obvious when they do it every single time with everything. The third reason that I love Montgomery Auction is because they do the in-house shipping and it’s actually affordable shipping. There are other options who want so much money to pick up and ship the items it puts it right out of my price range. It’s not like normal shipping with the other options. One of them literally wanted $100 to pick up and ship a vase less than 9 inches tall. Montgomery will ship like eight things for less than that. So I love them!
Report
Pair of Brass Blue and White Porcelain Inkwells

Emma
Ventura, CA

Jul 31, 2023
Great Seller
Highly recommend!
Report
Chinese Crackle Glazed Porcelain Dish

Noel
Alexandria, VA

Jul 16, 2023
Explicit attempt to hide important unpleasant information about item
I went to pick up the vase in person. After driving for more than an hour, a staff came outside the bldg to meet me with the 12” vase. In my excitement, I wanted to hold it but she brushed me off. I tried it again and she did the same thing. She then asked me to sign an invoice, which customarily, the client is the one supposed to get one. Only then did she let me hold the vase, instructing me to hold it at the bottom. My excitement clouded my usual sense and failed to suspect anything. When I got home and picked up my much loved acquisition, $178, gas and lots of effort just fell down and broke into pieces. About three inches from the mouth of the vase, the entire circumference turned out to have been glued together. I called Montgomery Auctions and spoke with the same lady who handed me the piece. The first thing I said was, whether they’re “willing to” and not “can they” alleviate my loss. Suffice it to say, in our five-minute conversation, she at first tried to appear unaware of any irregularity with the piece (no report of any blemish on LiveAuctioneer about the item) and at some point in our conversation, sounded like she knew all along but that Montgomery Auctions can not do anything about the situation. The public may not look at pieces they’re spending a lot of money for in person in this cyber age, but that’s why there’s a “condition” report on the website and photos, especially of pertinent details. They obviously hide necessary information and try to get away with it. Big, big disappointment and waste.
Report
Japanese Blue and White Porcelain Vase

Joel
Ossian, IN

Jul 16, 2023
Japanese cloisonne vase.

Stephen
San Francisco, CA

May 31, 2023
Fast shipment, fragile item packed safely
Excellent service, accurate description, easy payment, and fast, professional in-house shipping. I would be happy to bid with this auction house again!
Report
Chinese Export Nanking Blue and White Porcelain Dish

Rui
Viseu, PT

May 30, 2023
Unframed Japanese Woodblock Print by Hiroshige -Fifty Three Stations

Niping
Chappaqua, NY

May 30, 2023
Beautiful piece!
great transaction as always!
Report
Chinese Carved Agate Peach Water Coupe

Terry
Portland, OR

May 30, 2023
Great
Nice stuff good prices great in-house shipping cost
Report
Japanese Brass Box with Copper Inlay

Niping
Chappaqua, NY

May 27, 2023
very nice auction team and great in-house shipping
auction team is very nice and responsive. In-house shipping is huge plus!
Report
Chinese Blue and White Porcelain Plate

Niping
Chappaqua, NY

May 26, 2023
Perfect transaction
Really nice and responsive auction team. In-house shipping is big plus!
Report
Chinese Hand Painted Artwork of Two Birds

Niping
Chappaqua, NY

May 26, 2023
perfect transaction
really nice and responsive auction house. in-house shipping is a huge plus!
Report
Chinese Jade Cup

David
Picton, NZ

May 25, 2023
Bronze Musician Figurine

Jun
Hamden, CT

May 11, 2023
Pair of Chinese Export Famile Rose Porcelain Dishes

John
Fort Worth, TX

May 09, 2023
Packing and shipping
The packing was extremely careful to protect the objects
Report
Japanese Pottery Double Condiment Server

Stephen
San Francisco, CA

May 07, 2023
Mailrose Abbey, Scotland, F Cary Sculp. Lithograph.

Christine
Austin, TX

Mar 25, 2023
Chinese Embroidery Piece of a Foo Dog

Corinne
Seaford, VA

Mar 22, 2023
Great transaction
The vendor was very prompt and provided more than acceptable information and pictures of the item. I was very pleased with my purchase.
Report
Katsuyuki Nishijima Japanese Woodblock Print

Arlene
West Bloomfield, MI

Mar 07, 2023
Japanese Satsuma Porcelain Water Dropper.

Joseph
New York, NY

Mar 05, 2023
Best Experience
This was the most seamless experience I have had with any seller on LiveAuctioneers. The invoice came later in the same day as the auction. The shipping was automatic and super fast. Montgomery made everything as easy and professional as possible.
Report
Indian Copper Bowl

Niping
Chappaqua, NY

Feb 19, 2023
beautiful item. easy process
beautiful jade cup. easy process.
Report
Chinese Carved White Jade Wine Cup

Masui
Nagoya, JP

Jan 29, 2023
Shipping fee is very high.
Shipping fee is very high.
Report
Japanese Cloisonne Vase

Jan
Addison, PA

Jan 24, 2023
The Best!
Kudos to whoever is in charge of packing won items! Their shipping rates are reasonable especially considering the care, effort and materials used to insure safe delivery. They also ship promptly and are quick to respond to any questions. Highly recommend!
Report
Pair of Metal Snail Candle Holders

Daryl
San Jose, CA

Jan 23, 2023
As described great item
Happy with item
Report
The Great Wave off Kanagawa, Framed Japanese Woodblock Print.

Jan
Addison, PA

Jan 03, 2023
Great Auction House
Montgomery always responds quickly to inquiries, has fair shipping prices and items are well packed. I've had many successful transactions with them.
Report
Eloise Egan signed painting of a town

Barnaby
Gig Harbor, WA

Dec 20, 2022
Extra, Extra, Read all about it.......
Great Service, Great Value, this was a delight and I love the two (2) Montblanc Pens sooooooo much
Report
Montblanc Leonard Bernstein limited edition Ballpoint Pen with box and cd

Marilyn
Santa Fe, NM

Nov 21, 2022
Red Coral Frog

Todd
Medway, MA

Nov 15, 2022
Old Japanese Iron Teapot

Barbara
Waterford, MI

Nov 13, 2022
Condition not Described
Billing, payment, and shipping were all very efficient. However, the condition of the items was not described nor shown. The paint is off many spots in the rear of each item, exposing a greenish, moldy-colored stone. There were also small paint chips along the bottom of each statue. Worse of all the one statue had moldy color showing on the face. This was very disappointing. If no condition is mentioned or shown in photo one assumes the condition is good. I will be very careful bidding with Motgomery Auction in the future.
Report
Three Metal Laughing Buddha Statues

Sherry
Crystal Lake, IL

Oct 24, 2022
My favorite auction!
I love Montgomery, Auction. I love them because they have great stuff. I trust them. I also like that they give a pretty good range of the estimated value of the item since I don’t really know. It helps me feel confident about my purchases.
Report
Group of Five Wood Stands

Olga
Edinburg, TX

Oct 02, 2022
Excellent Service!
Every item was well packed and shipped on a timely basis.
Report
Bookend

Marilyn
Santa Fe, NM

Sep 22, 2022
Framed Japanese Poster Print of People on a Bridge

Weijiang
Bellevue, WA

Sep 01, 2022
Chinese Brocade Silk Piece

THOMAS
Westport, CT

Aug 21, 2022
Chinese Carved Bone Small Box
View:
50
TOP