Bidder Reviews for Material Culture (625)

badge TOP RATED
4.6 out of 5.0 Stars
trophy
Accurate Descriptions
trophy
Quick Responses
trophy
Easy Payments
trophy
Seamless Shipping

1-50 of 625 Reviews

Filter:
All Ratings
Sort:
Highest Rated

Daniel
Berlin, DE

Jun 29, 2022
African Kuba Shoowa Prestige Cloth, DRC

Maria
Sollentuna, SE

Jun 28, 2022
Pre-Columbian Chimu Necklace

Terri
Collettsville, NC

Jun 21, 2022
Good source for folk, outsider and self-taught art
Great piece of outsider art for a great price, thank you!
Report
R.A. Miller (American, 1912-2006)

Lisa
Philadelphia, PA

Jun 21, 2022
Group of Fine and Folk Art Reference Books

Barnaby
Gig Harbor, WA

Jun 17, 2022
Howard Chandler Christy
To find an original Howard Chandler Christy oil painting produced in 1942 is amazing. To purchase it for the price I paid is unheard of! Will continue to shop with this fabulous Auction House in the future. Thanks, BHB
Report
Howard Chandler Christy (American, 1872-1952)

Mohammad
Beirute, LB

Jun 10, 2022
Great Item! Thank you!
Great Work! Great items! A Big Thanks from Beirut Lebanon 🙏 🇱 🇧 🙏
Report
Large Turkish Silk Prayer Rug, Early/Mid 20th C., 5'11'' x 8'11''

Paul
Vestavia, AL

May 30, 2022
Mr. Imagination (Gregory Warmack), (American,

Andrew
Atlanta, GA

May 26, 2022
Great packing
That may have been the most carefully packed vase I've ever seen. Thank you!
Report
Art Pottery Vase "Devil's Flower Mantis" by Diane Simon

Andrew
Philadelphia, PA

May 20, 2022
Provenances Mysterious
A friendly and otherwise well-run business with many interesting objects, Material Culture generally fails to provide sufficient information to determine whether antiquities being offered meet current legal and professional standards for adherence to laws and regulations for export, import and protection of cultural heritage. Several inquiries by me have not been responded to at all, despite my being a repeat purchaser of items where these considerations did not prevent my participation.
Report
Small Antique Tibetan Silver Gau with Turquoise

Richard
Bethlehem, PA

May 19, 2022
great place to deal with
great place to deal with
Report
Greta Garbo's Louis XV/XVI Fauteuil en Cabriolet, 3rd Quarter 18th C., Ex. Sotheby's, Nov. 15, 1990,

Paul
Ludlow, GB

May 18, 2022
Excellent
Excellent contact, well described. Super item …..
Report
17th C. German Carved Coquilla Nut Pendant

Meg
Parkville, MD

May 16, 2022
Totally Charming Naive Animal Figures
I have purchased several items through Material Culture, and my experience has been good. Sometimes they are not on target with cataloging, but they auction diverse items and cannot know everything. I bought this lot on a whim, and they are not African animals/pipes as described but rather South American in origin. No matter because they exceeded my expectations and are utterly charming and fun. I just love them. They are not what I usually collect, but you can take a chance with Material Culture and end up with really cool stuff, plus they always answer pre-auction questions promptly.
Report
Group of African Zoomorphic Pipes and Figures

Paul
Framingham, MA

Apr 27, 2022
Responsive to Questions
This was the first time I've used Material Culture and my experience was good. They were responsive to my requests to measure the item, as I was deciding to pick it up or ship it. Excellent service, everything went smoothly even though I changed my mind in the process.
Report
Department 56 Heritage Village Collection, Christmas in the City Series

Kelly
Dallas, TX

Apr 25, 2022
Life-Size Statue of La Virgen Purisima o La Imaculada,  C. 1875

Rayleen
Cleveland Heights, OH

Apr 17, 2022
Fine Spanish Colonial Santa Maria Bastidor Cage Santo, C.1800-1850

Jill
Canfield, OH

Apr 17, 2022
Wonderful Experience!
Everything went smoothly. The shipping company was fantastic, AJ at the Packaging Store. I couldn't believe how beautifully they packaged the item. It was shipped in a timely fashion too. Everyone I spoke with were pleasant and professional. Would love to do business with all again.
Report
Contemporary Folk Art Copper Cows

Alicia
Ranchos De Taos, NM

Apr 17, 2022
Philadelphia Mailroom disappointing
Material Culture has great items for sale, but I live in NM and shipping takes away from the bargain. The Mailroom estimated a $59 shipping charge but when all was said and done, it was $30 more. I had asked them not to use Styrofoam peanuts, but they used them anyway. Instead of stacking the masks with tissue paper between, they laid them side by side, each wrapped in about 2” of bubble wrap. It’s not only costly, it’s a huge waste of resources. I’ve already abandoned one auction house with LiveAuctioneers because their shippers are excessively priced and don’t use recycled shipping materials. In this age of internet commerce, shippers will have to be more eco conscious in order to attract customers like me, and if it’s UPS or FedEx rules to blame, then they must ship USPS. VERY DISSATISFIED customer of Philly Mailroom!!
Report
Guatemalan "Mexicano" Dance Mask

Peter
Boston, Massachusetts

Apr 17, 2022
Shipping
I engaged the shipping company MC recommended. I still have not received the item I purchased. The company I engaged at their recommendation has yet to deliver the item. Their subcontractor finally contacted me after I had not heard from them on the promised date of delivery. I still have yet to see the item even though I have paid for it and the shipping of it.
Report
John Taylor (American, B.1954) "The Eliza Anderson", 43"

Tod
Washington, DC

Apr 17, 2022
Victorian Carved Wood and Bone Officer on Cannon Balance Toy

Reese
Chesapeake, VA

Apr 17, 2022
C.A. Bromley (1900-1994), Chuck Wagon Model

James
Jacksonville, FL

Apr 04, 2022
Japanese Carved Figure, Meiji Period

Andrea
Philadelphia, PA

Mar 22, 2022
Kayseri Round Rug, Turkey, Early 20th C.

Ahmed
Coral Springs, FL

Mar 17, 2022
Very knowledgeable and very courteous
Thank you Material culture and special thank you for Mr George
Report
Fine Dabir Kashan Rug, Persia, Early 20th C., 4'3'' x

liang
Halethorpe, MD

Mar 16, 2022
Chinese Ming Celadon Bowl

Linda
Davenport, IA

Mar 16, 2022
This was not a calabash as you described, but a carved wooden bowl.
Great items, good service. The last item I purchased was misidentified, but I like it a lot, so will not complain. The patina is old and the native mends are genuine and add character.
Report
Sub-Saharan Tuareg Carved Calabash Bowl

Jeremiah
Minneapolis, MN

Mar 16, 2022
Native American Hopi Kachina Doll, Early-Mid 20th C.

Dennis
Fairfax Station, Virginia

Mar 16, 2022
Material Culture is one of my normal source for quality products.
I have purchased many items from Material Culture for many years. They normally sell very high quality consignments which is why I keep coming back to them. Great job indeed on this recent purchase. Thank you again.
Report
Konyak Festival Mustard Glass Trade Bead Belt,

Jean Jacques
Montreal, CA

Mar 16, 2022
Three Coconut Shell Spoons, PNG

James
Jacksonville, FL

Mar 14, 2022
Lavar Kerman Rug, Persia, Ca. 1900, 9'0'' x 13'0''

Steven
Hotchkiss, CO

Jan 05, 2022
Vintage Konya Prayer Kilim, Turkey, 4'0'' x 5'7''

Darius
New York, NY

Jan 05, 2022
Three Savonnerie Cusions, France, 19th C.

James
Jacksonville, FL

Dec 29, 2021
Group of 8 Vintage Tabriz Mats, Persia

Lee
Shoreham, NY

Dec 29, 2021
Miao Shaman's Spirit-Calling Horn, Mid 20th C.

Wayne
Toronto, Canada

Dec 29, 2021
Buyi Wedding Blanket, China, Early/Mid 20th C.

Pegene
Harleysville, Pennsylvania

Dec 22, 2021
Very knowledgable about item.
Great working with them.
Report
Beautiful Vintage Moroccan Blanket

John
Santa Fe, NM

Dec 18, 2021
Reliable and efficient interaction
I found every step of the purchasing process straight forward and easy to deal with. The folks at Material Culture are knowledgable, helpful and always there to answer questions. Items seem to be accurately described, the photos are generally of good quality and color true, and my inquiries have always been promptly addressed. The payment process was easy to deal with, confirmation was prompt, and the shipping by an independent shipper for me was trouble free and reasonably priced. Absolutely no complaints, and thank you for doing such a good job!
Report
Two Soft Woven Baskets, Philippines

Frank
Forest Hills, NY

Dec 12, 2021
Item was damaged
Item arrived damaged in the package
Report
K. M. Boyd (British, 20th Century)

Tim
Newton, MA

Dec 06, 2021
Antique Asian Calligraphy Group

Jonathan
Washington, District Of Columbia

Dec 06, 2021
Old Japanese Tsutsugaki Indigo Dyed Textile

Thomas
San Rafael, California

Dec 06, 2021
Reliable and well described
A reliable seller, with knowledge of the material and it was actually well photographed and represented on line, and taking photos of rugs and textiles can sometimes be challenging.
Report
Large Ersari Chuval, Turkmenistan, Mid 19th C.

Cheryl
Brooklyn, NY

Dec 05, 2021
Great items and great service
This auction house is discerning and professional. A joy to deal with them!
Report
Mexican Curpites Dance Mask, Michoacan, Early-Mid 20th

Nancy L.
Holland, MI

Dec 05, 2021
Above and Beyond
I emailed a question about condition of the rug and received several detailed images and a very prompt response. Payment, shipping and overall response was professional and pleasant. I would buy from them again without hesitation.
Report
Tabriz Rug, Persia, Early 20th C., 9'5'' x 12'3''

Jean Jacques
Montreal, CA

Dec 05, 2021
Antique Coconut Shell Spoon, Azera, Markham Valley

Hilke
Longwood, FL

Nov 17, 2021
Large Indian Embroidered Wedding Canopy

David
South Lyme, CT

Nov 16, 2021
Very organized
Item was received and is exactly how it was presented
Report
Antique Birds Eye and Tiger Maple Plant Stand

James
Jacksonville, FL

Nov 09, 2021
Kerman Rug, Persia, Early 20th C., 5'4'' x 27'0''

Lilianna
Philadelphia, PA

Oct 20, 2021
Uzbek Velvet Ikat on Leather Belt, Late 19th C.

Mark
Marina Del Rey, California

Oct 20, 2021
Timor Ikat Shoulder Cloth

Margaret
Milton, MA

Oct 20, 2021
Interesting offerings
I learned about several cultures just by reading about some of the auction lots.
Report
Aymara Mantita, La Paz, Bolivia, C. 1900

James
Bellevue, WA

Oct 16, 2021
Inaccurate Rug Description
Estimated age of rug was inaccurate and not as old as stated. Condition report also inaccurate which did not mention numerous moth bites in wool pile.
Report
Fine Bidjar Rug, Persia, Circa 1900, 4'8'' x 7'9''
View:
50
iphoneandroidPhone

Get notifications from your favorite auctioneers.

As Seen On
NBC
ABC
Today
Chicago Tribune
Architectural Digest
Shop With Confidence
Since 2002, LiveAuctioneers has made exceptional items available for safe purchase in secure online auctions.
TOP