logo
Weekly Auctions of Exceptional Items
Log In

Bidder Reviews for Hudson Valley Auctions (117)

4.2 out of 5.0 Stars
5 Star
65% (76)
4 Star
13% (15)
3 Star
6% (7)
2 Star
5% (6)
1 Star
11% (13)

1-50 of 117 Reviews

Filter:
All Ratings
Sort:
Highest Rated
Dominik
Lustenau, Austria
Feb 19, 2019
Never received an answer to multiple emails. Very disappointed!
Report
Philip
Washington, North Carolina
Feb 14, 2019
No communication-Auction House did not respond to email or calls. Shipping process is TERRIBLE!!!!! Greatly overcharged by shipper (only shipper listed for auction house) Shipper stuck canvass between two pieces of cardboard and taped and charged MORE than another shipper charged for three framed paintings which were larger from another auction house. Would be very reluctant to bid with this auction house
Report
David
New Haven, CT
Feb 09, 2019
Kevin
San Jose, California
Feb 09, 2019
Books were as advertised, and out-of-date books can't be taken for granted so I am happy to have them regardless the shipping and premium surcharge of sorts, $47 + purchase amt. = $67 actual cost. Thanks Hudson Valley. Kevin
Report
Ken
Port Chester, New York
Nov 21, 2018
Laurent
New York, New York
Nov 21, 2018
Anonymous
Sep 19, 2018
Pleasuret to do business with, knowledgable help.
Report
Anonymous
Jul 27, 2018
I have been unable to establish shipping. Poor communication from their shipping source and the auction house. Auction house did not respond to my email.
Report
Anonymous
Jul 26, 2018
More information about the items i, e the size etc thanks
Report
Anonymous
Jul 25, 2018
overall good experience.
Report
Anonymous
Jul 25, 2018
Anonymous
May 08, 2018
No
Report
Anonymous
May 07, 2018
Anonymous
May 02, 2018
Hudson Valley needs to change their “Recommended Shipper”. UPS store 1747 was a horrible experience. They were unprofessional and continued to lie for two weeks. I am a good, prompt paying customer to both auction house and shippers. The experience with UPS # 1747 was not worth bidding in your locale. I will check to see the shipper recommended before I bid on any future auction. Dr. Brian
Report
Anonymous
May 02, 2018
Horrific customer service. The Anti-Amazon. Did not answer messages. Requested a certain shipper and they used a different one anyway. Shipper has still not contacted me regarding shipping cost. My first auction experience and may be my last.
Report
Anonymous
May 02, 2018
Anonymous
Nov 09, 2017
Anonymous
Nov 07, 2017
I wrote three emails to agree on the shipment and after 14 days I did not receive any reply! please note that I sent the payment on the same day of purchase!. I was hoping for the same punctuality and after two weeks I still can not schedule the shipment. the shipping company advised has excessive prices, but luckily communication is good.
Report
Anonymous
Nov 06, 2017
More speed in answering shipping questions
Report
Anonymous
Nov 06, 2017
The piece I purchased was not what was described and I returned it. The piece was a later copy and not original. I felt the auction house should have known that. I wasted time and money on the shipping. Back and forth based on a piece that was falsely described
Report
Anonymous
Nov 06, 2017
Anonymous
Nov 06, 2017
Anonymous
Nov 06, 2017
Anonymous
Aug 13, 2017
The local UPS store in my case was also unhelpful (not responding to my e-mails).
Report
Anonymous
Jul 20, 2017
Hudson Valley has refused to handle a damage report for my purchase Louis ********************
Report
Anonymous
Jul 20, 2017
Lot 260 was purchased June 10 and released to UPS afternoon June 13. It was available to me June 30 (I was moving locally and chose July 3 delivery). It could have been delivered to my door but was given to masons doing construction. I got it July 5 damaged. I contacted Hudson Valley the next day but received no response. During the long wait UPS ignored two e-mails from me. Not good!
Report
Anonymous
Jul 11, 2017
Anonymous
Jun 28, 2017
More photos and better descriptions would be a welcome improvement. This goes for most of the auction houses.
Report
Anonymous
Jun 28, 2017
I won lot 431 on the 10th. On the 11th i paid as soon as i received the invoice. I was not aware of the fact that the auctioneers did not provide shipping services. I asked Mr John Paul for help. UPS got in touch with me only after 11 days and i provided the necessary information. The third day i emailed UPS (Hannah & Colleen), they never answered! Then i emailed Mr John Paul twice but got no answer.
Report
Anonymous
Jun 28, 2017
My problem was with James Cox gallery. They did not accept my bid and sold the item to someone on the floor. What else is there to say. You need to have agreements with the auction house that will have consequences if they choose to ignore online bids. Otherwise bidding through your site is unreliable. I will never bid with live auctioneers again.
Report
Anonymous
Jun 28, 2017
This is one of the best auction houses that I deal with. Very Professional and helpful in every way. Wish they were all like these guys.
Report
Anonymous
Jun 27, 2017
They recommend a shipper, but the items arrived damaged and the claims are still outstanding and the auction house takes NO resposibility. Why buy something, only to have it arrive worthless?
Report
Anonymous
Jun 26, 2017
Could not get the auction house to return phone contacts for a week....
Report
Anonymous
Jun 26, 2017
I still have not heard a peep from Carrell's regarding the June 18 auction. I paid for the item on June 19 through LiveAuctioneers, but did not get a confirmation of payment. I have emailed Carrell's but have not gotten a reply. Their voice mail box is full and not taking messages. This has been a most bizarre experience in my auction life. Has something happened to the auction house where they are unable to respond? Or was I duped?
Report
Anonymous
Jun 26, 2017
Anonymous
Jun 26, 2017
Anonymous
Mar 09, 2017
Anonymous
Mar 09, 2017
Anonymous
Mar 09, 2017
Anonymous
Mar 09, 2017
Hudson Valley were great and UPS were really not good-I emailed the auction house re shippers as they had recommended them-auction house did not bother to reply
Report
Anonymous
Mar 09, 2017
Anonymous
Mar 09, 2017
Anonymous
Mar 09, 2017
The shipping took a LONG time-I had to call the UPS several times, but they kept reporting that they had not yet received the items to pack and ship to me. I spoke with Soledad a few times, and in the end, I believe the woman's name was Cindy ?) who helped me by consistently calling you and tracking my items. I just felt so helpless, living on the West Coast, and receiving no updates made me nervous about having made payment. And the shipping costs are pretty prohibitive-I think my days using live auctions are over.
Report
Anonymous
Mar 09, 2017
Anonymous
Mar 08, 2017
Anonymous
Mar 08, 2017
The glass vase I won at auction was damaged and this was not revealed. Shipping was done in the most expensive way, using a box 4 times too big for international USPS shipping where the cost was twice what the winning price was for the auction, it was sent Express USPS when no such request was made, no communication except very basic credit infor and delivery info. NO happy at all with this transaction with these people have decided to avoid most online private auction as there is no effort to be reasonable towards to customer at all. Usual short sighted way of doing business now, not looking to broaden a customer base but making the most money the fastest way possible.
Report
Anonymous
Mar 08, 2017
Anonymous
Mar 08, 2017
China condition shown as "good". Quite a few pieces were chipped. They did not provide listing of lot.
Report
Anonymous
Mar 08, 2017
Anonymous
Mar 08, 2017
The mirror I purchased arrived broken and when I reached out to UPS, I was told that the mirror was "disassembled" so that it wouldn't break in transit as it was in very poor condition. I called Hudson Valley a couple of times and no one returned my call. UPS indicated that I couldn't file a claim because the mirror didn't break in transit, tho they "disassembled" a mirror that should have arrived in one piece. Never received a return call from Hudson Valley. Bad experience.
Report
View:
50
iphoneandroidPhone
As Seen On
NBC
ABC
Today
Chicago Tribune
Architectural Digest
Shop With Confidence
Since 2002, LiveAuctioneers has made exceptional items available for safe purchase in secure online auctions.
BACK TO TOP