×
Log In
5145: Goltzius, Hendrik: Mars und Venus
5007: Aldegrever, Heinrich: Die großen Hochzeitstänzer5006: Aldegrever, Heinrich: Marcus Curtius
Berlin, Germany
DoneThu, Jun 3, 2010 8:00 AM UTC

15th-21st Century Art (Day 1: Prints)

95th Art Auction, June 3-5, 2010

--- Thu, June 3
10:00 CET (1 AM PT): #5000-5451: 15th-18th Century Prints
15:00 CET (6 AM PT): #5452-5817: 19th Century Prints / Misc. Works of Art
--- Fri, June 4
11:00 CET (2 AM PT): #6000-6176: Master Paintings
15:00 CET (6 AM PT): #6177-6475: 15th-19th Century Drawings
--- Sat, June 5
10:00 CET (1 AM PT): #7000-7575: Modern Art Part II
15:00 CET (6 AM PT): #8000-8416: Modern Art Part I

Our current auction of paintings, drawings and prints of the 15th - 19th century as well as the 20th century consists of circa 2500 lots. The auction includes high quality and diverse works by masters of various epochs such as Albrecht Durer, Hieronymus Cock, Hendrik Goltzius, Rembrandt and Goya. Exceptional paintings by Francesco Guardi, Carlo Francesco, Nuvolone and Johann Friedrich August Tischbein are additonal highlights. The representation of a gothic dome amidst a lake attributed to Friedrich Schinkel as well as an impressive altarpiece by a Cologne master 1495-1500 are also noteworthy.

The intimate and persceptive painting "Zwei Freundinnen am Tisch mit Buch" (Two Girlfriends at the Table with Book) by Karl Hofer is the definite highlight of the Modern Art section. The comprehensive selection of this section spans from the main names of Impressionism and Classical Modernism such as Auguste Renoir, Lesser Ury and Pablo Picasso to those of contemporary artists such as Francesco Clemente with his "Double Portrait - John Heys as Diana Vreeland". Prominent and important works of German Expressionism are represented by Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, Otto Dix, Hans Juchser, Willy Jaekel and Karl Schmidt-Rottluff. A thematically diverse and comprehensive collection of drawings and prints by Hans Meid round off the wide selection.

Note also:
--- Wed, June 9, 15:00 CET (6 AM PT): #4000-4455: Fine Photography and Photo Books